Hi! Hello!

Well! My official first post.

First off, huge thanks to my cousin Becca for getting me up and running 🙂 This will definitely be a learning opportunity for me.

I thought this would be a good platform to keep some of the people in my life up to speed on my adventures and share the good, bad and ugly about my practicum placement, and help me work through my experiences.

I’ve been getting similar questions from people when they find out I’m going to India, so to start off, I thought it would be good to answer/provide some background on my placement.

Where am I going?

I, along with two fellow students, will fly out of Montreal, stopping in Qatar, then arrive in Trivandrum, close to the southern tip of India. From there, we have a 2-3 hour taxi ride to Amar Seva Sangam (ASSA), in Ayikudy. Check it out here! https://www.google.ca/maps/place/Amar+Seva+Sangam/@8.994066,77.337784,15z/data=!4m2!3m1!1s0x0:0xef6c5b6d42ba20f4?sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwj2trnelbHRAhVnw4MKHdW3CgwQ_BIIczAK

 

How long will I be gone for?

Just under 8 weeks! I arrive back in Canada on March 3.

 

What am I doing there?

I will be working in an interdisciplinary team including other OT students and physiotherapists. Clients who stay at ASSA include those who have suffered a stroke, spinal cord injury and work place injuries, among others. There are also children who live and go to school there, and may have a variety of disabilities.

For more information about ASSA please check out their website: https://www.amarseva.org/

 

Why am I going?

This is a question that’s fairly complicated for me to answer… so I’ll try and answer it as best as I can right now, and hopefully my future posts will expand on it.

Basically, I decided to apply for a placement in India because I felt it would challenge me personally and professionally.  I fell in love with India years ago, through my favourite book Shantaram (seriously, if you haven’t heard me yammer on about this book, well, you’re lucky. But SERIOUSLY read it. Its AMAZING and beautifully written.). I hope I can learn how to utilize local resources, create sustainable interventions and work within cultural practices.  I want to learn first hand about another culture (really many cultures…India is home to so many different groups!) and strengthen my cultural humility (more to follow on that…), both as a human being and a future practitioner.

 

xo

B

Leave a Reply

