Leaving on a jet plane

Today is our last day at ASSA. It’s snuck up SO incredibly quickly.

I have a few last minute things to take care of, but for the most part, it’s really just packing up.

Last night was our last game’s night with the SCI (spinal cord injury) group. Every Wednesday we ran a variety of group games, the favourite being handball. It was so much fun, and even better when we all played in extra wheelchairs. I played last night, and am pretty sore! The wheelchair I had was too big and the arm rests ended up bruising the inside of my arms, but at the end of the day, it was amazing to play along side the members, and be grateful that I had the option to get out of the chair whenever I chose. We also did some yoga after games night; a guest teacher was there… the guys didnt take it too seriously, and it ended up being a great laugh.

IMG_4414 (1).jpg

Today has been pretty surreal; a lot of mixed emotions packing up my things. Waiting the day out to leave is really not my favourite… It feels like it draws out the good bye. But I would probably feel like that no matter what time of day we left.

I said goodbye to my families at the Early Intervention Centre, and managed to snap a quick photo with the head OT there. She was such a wonderful source of knowledge for me, and, like everyone else here, so kind and welcoming.

 

img_4416-1

 

We did have a really lovely meeting with the VBRI workers this morning. We got to share some of our highlights and they made me cry with the (too kind) things they shared about me. I have SO much admiration and respect for these women; day in and day out they travel to small villages in less than ideal circumstances. The blistering heat, the lack of resources and challenging socio-economic and other influences all can challenge their intervention plans. They are also setting a new example for their own children (if they are mothers) as well as the women and young girls in the villages. It is the embodiment of women empowerment, and I could not be more grateful to see that in action. These women move with grace, purpose and dignity. They hold their head up when they walk through the villages, instead of looking away as is often expected. They are strong, in so many ways. I feel like these words will never do their abilities justice, and my inadequate words cheapens their strength.

img_4420

Pushpa, the lady in the pink, was adorable and grabbed my hand for the picture. If Im being completely honest, I was teary eyed this whole time. 

 

Im going to try and catch a quick nap before the rest of the afternoon runs too far away from me. More soon.

 

xo

B

Leave a Reply

